Dot gov

The .gov means it’s official.
Federal government websites often end in .gov or .mil. Before sharing sensitive information, make sure you're on a federal government site.

SSL

The site is secure.
The https:// ensures that you are connecting to the official website and that any information you provide is encrypted and transmitted securely.

USMMA is closed to the public until further notice. The latest general information on the Coronavirus Disease (COVID-19) is available at  Coronavirus.gov. For USMMA specific COVID-19 resources, please visit our page.

United States Department of Transportation United States Department of Transportation

Department of Marine Engineering

Below is a complete list of the Department of Marine Engineering Faculty and Staff.

Name

Title

Phone number 

Email 

Prof. Michael Ales

Associate Professor

(516) 726-5721 

alesm@usmma.edu

Dr. Boris Butman

Professor Emeritus

(516) 726-5705 

No Academy Email

Mr. Thomas Bussi

Mechanical Engineering Technician

(516) 726-5735

bussit@usmma.edu

Dr. William Caliendo

Department Head

(516) 726-5722 

caliendow@usmma.edu

Prof. Salvatore J. Carillo

Assistant Professor

(516) 726-5597

carillos@usmma.edu

Dr. Gabriel Colef

Professor

(516) 726-5730

colefg@usmma.edu

Prof. John Colef

Assistant Professor

(516) 726-5725

              colefj@usmma.edu

Mr. Richard Crook

Laboratory Supervisor

(516) 726-5730

crookr@usmma.edu

Prof. Jose Femenia

Professor Emeritus

(516) 726-5705 

No Academy Email

CDR Emily Gardner

Assistant Professor

(516) 726-5762

gardnere@usmma.edu

CDR Raymond Gardner

Professor

(516) 726-5724

gardnerr@usmma.edu

Dr. James Garofalo

Assistant Professor

(516) 726-5717

garofaloj@usmma.edu

Dr. Yongjian Gu

Associate Professor

(516) 726-5719

guy@usmma.edu

Prof. Erica Hansen

Assistant Professor

(516) 726-5630

hansene@usmma.edu

Mrs. Maria Hansen

Staff Assistant

(516) 726-5705

hansenm@usmma.edu

CDR James A. Harbach

Professor Emeritus

(516) 726-5705 

No Academy Email

CAPT Peter Kahl

Associate Professor

(516) 726-5712

kahlp@usmma.edu

CDR Lance W. Klein

Associate Professor

(516) 726-5733

kleink@usmma.edu

Prof. Brian Leonard

Assistant Professor

(516) 726-5711

leonardb@usmma.edu

Dr. Walter M. Maclean

Professor Emeritus

(516) 726-5705 

No Academy Email

CAPT Robert T. Madden

Professor Emeritus

(516) 726-5705 

No Academy Email

CAPT Anthony D. Nigro

Graduate Program Director, Associate Professor

(516) 726-5734

nigron@usmma.edu

Dr. David Palmer

Professor

(516) 726-5707

palmerd@usmma.edu

LCDR Nicholas Palumbo

Assistant Professor

(516) 726-5794

palumbon@usmma.edu

Dr. Sergio Perez

Professor

(516) 726-5726

perezs@usmma.edu

CAPT Joseph Poliseno

Associate Professor

(516) 726-5732

polisenoj@usmma.edu

CDR David Pulis

Assistant Department Head, Associate Professor

(516) 726-5729

pulisd@usmma.edu

Dr. Michael Roenbeck

Assistant Professor

(516) 726-5738

roenbeckm@usmma.edu

Prof. Michael Rowles

 Assistant Professor

(516) 726-5767

              rowlesm@usmma.edu

Prof. Paul Santamauro

Professor

(516) 726-5723

santamaurop@usmma.edu

CAPT William Sembler

Professor Emeritus

(516) 726-5705 

No Academy Email

Dr. Hesham Shaalan

Professor

(516) 726-5708

shaalanh@usmma.edu

Dr. Atil Talay

Assistant Professor

(516) 726-5774

talaya@usmma.edu

Prof. Andrew Turtora

Assistant Professor

(516) 726-5628

            turtoraA@usmma.edu

 

Last updated: Monday, December 7, 2020

Applications for the Class of 2026 Open May 1

Learn more about the requirements and expectations of Midshipmen.